Reviews



Very good place - Rating 4/5

Good place to visit edimburg. Near to the center. I hope to return soon.

Reviewer:coral del rocio garcia b | Tue 10th Dec 2019 | 14 hours ago


Convenient and warm - Rating 5/5

upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly reception that provided us with information about how to get into the centre of Edinburgh, he handed me a piece of paper with what bus services get us into town (A LOT! and every 5 mins you have a bus) and how much it costs to get there from the hotel (DEC 2019 - £1.75 Adult single)the bus is about 15 minutes or so journey into town and the hotel is situated near a retail park (5 min walk) with a sainsburys, greggs, mcdonalds a gym etc..inside the room, very nice and warm, comfy bed and a decent shower, the maid did an excellent job in cleaning.the only thing i am not too keen on is that the hotel interior is a bit dated and could do with maybe a renovation, its not too stylish but a hotel is a place to sleep for me, im not bothered too much in how it looks, just a heads up if you want to impress the other half and not look like you bought a hotel on a bit of a budget. it will do...

Reviewer:Shay K | Wed 4th Dec 2019 | 6 days ago


Rating - Rating 4/5

Our stay at the Northumberland Hotel was satisfactory.

Reviewer:Irene L | Mon 2nd Dec 2019 | 1 week ago


Overnight Stay - Rating 3/5

Beds comfy and room fine for overnight stay. We had double bed and two single beds so wee bit cramped but as I said fine for one night. We didn’t have breakfast but breakfast room looked pleasant enough and they were serving a continental breakfast. Lots of facilities nearby if you choose to eat out. We felt hotel provided value for money.

Reviewer:Joyce P | Tue 26th Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


excellent- Rating 5/5

the room was good clean standard, didn’t have any problems what so ever, everything was perfect and the staff was very helpful and friendlywould highly recommend 100%

Reviewer:kimberley h | Thu 21st Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Not bad for this price - Rating 4/5

Good place for its price. Helpful receptionist.

Reviewer:Ewa L | Tue 19th Nov 2019 | 3 weeks ago


A bit noisy but a nice ploace - Rating 4/5

Pros:quite close but not too close to the downtown (2m/3km), good prices, easy to access, private parking, beautiful building, very friendly staff, kettle + tea, coffee, milk and sugar in each room.Cons:old leaky windows, letting in the noise from the street, cold rooms with heaters turned off or set to low until guests personally change it.

Reviewer:Wojciech B | Sun 17th Nov 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Nice stay - Rating 3/5

Nice stay, comfortable room.Negatives:room changed without notice - I would expect to at least be asked if it were ok.No cold water from tap in room 6.Despite these minor things I would stay again.

Reviewer:Ronald G | Fri 15th Nov 2019 | 3 weeks ago


One night stay - Rating 4/5

The staff were very friendly &helpful. The room was very quiet.The only thing was that the wifi kept dropping my calls &that was a little frustrating but other than that we enjoyed our stay. Thank you

Reviewer:Patricia T | Wed 30th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Stay is OK - Rating 4/5

Hotel is neat and clean and staff members are friendly. Wifi sometimes not working as expected. Easy access to the pubic transport.

Reviewer:Sreekanth M | Sun 27th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


NICE SMELLING HOTEL - Rating 3/5

CLEAN AND TIDY.EXTREMELY POOR BREAKFAST FOR THE PRICE CHARGED.GOOD PROVISION OF COMPLIMENTARY COFFEESHELPFUL RECEPTIONISTS.

Reviewer:Gaetano M | Tue 22nd Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Not bad for what I paid to stay in a family room. - Rating 4/5

The decor is dated but it's a lovely hotel for crashing out after a long day. There was no fridge in my room. The room I stayed in was clean. There are several buses running into the city centre

Reviewer:Elizabeth S | Sun 20th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Had a really comfortable night and a really good relaxing sleep. Unfortunately i arrived late in the evening and left early in the morning due to work which was the reason for my stay. I will defineatly be staying again.

Reviewer:Ian P | Mon 14th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


very nice- Rating 5/5

will not hesitate to book the next time i am back in scotland. thank you.

Reviewer:alan m | Fri 11th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


It\'s workable - Rating 3/5

This place is ok.Pros:free parking. Locations isn't too ad, less than 2 easy Mike's to downtown. clean enough.Cons:£7 cold breakfast is ridiculous (pub down the street has a nice breakfast for 50p more). TOILET DOESNT FLUSH! Well it does sometimes, but not consistently, about 1 in 8 flushes worked.

Reviewer:Jennifer Z | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Great - Rating 4/5

It was a perfect stay. If i was going to be fussy I’d say the pillows were a bit hard for my liking that’s it really. Parking was great .

Reviewer:Daniel M | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Nice room - Rating 4/5

Very helpful staff, great roomHowever the bed was very squeaky and the breakfast seemed very expensive.

Reviewer:Andrew F | Wed 18th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Pleasant - Rating 4/5

Nice quiet area and hotel. Friendly staff and a great price.

Reviewer:Leah h | Tue 17th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Nice place - Rating 3/5

The hotel is somewhat old but clean and comfortable.The staff is very friendly and although it is a bit far from the center it is very well connected.If we return to Edinburgh we will try to stay at his house again.

Reviewer:PILAR ALONSO C | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Small but sweet - Rating 4/5

This hotel room was small but quite comfortable, and as the room faced away from traffic, quiet. Hot showers and a basic continental breakfast were appreciated. Near a shopping centre.

Reviewer:Carey W | Wed 11th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Nice Hotel - Rating 4/5

The room was nice. The bathroom is due for some renovation but was moderately satisfactory. Road construction on southbound lanes meant having to reroute buses and walk a bit farther than normal, but nothing too bad.

Reviewer:Garald Stanley S | Tue 10th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Good nights rest! - Rating 4/5

Stayed for 1 night over the weekend.4 of us in a family room, it was perfect for what we needed after a long journey and a lovely day out in Edinburgh.Would recommend.

Reviewer:Susan H | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


You get what you pay for - Rating 4/5

very conveniently located and clean

Reviewer:Gary K | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely hotel- Rating 3/5

Lovely hotel with friendly staff.Only offer continental breakfast, so no good for us. Good location right next to buses that take you most places in Edinburgh.Could hear people passing outside room quite loudly.We were situated at the top of stairs the first room before passing through a door to the rest of the rooms. So very noisy. Could hear everyone that entered the building and spoke to reception. Would have prefered a room further into the hotel which might have been quieter especially having a child with us.Room was small but good for what we needed it for. Bed was bit squeaky when you moved as metal frame. Could do with some hooks in the room to hang coats up. And some in the bathroom for towels, as nowhere to put them and had to keep them in floor.

Reviewer:lorraine d | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Nice hotel - Rating 4/5

very nicevery helpful staff

Reviewer:Heather D | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


good hotel - Rating 4/5

very clean, nice staff, a lot a buses to go in the city center.

Reviewer:Alexis M | Wed 4th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


stay - Rating 5/5

the hotel room was very nice and comfortable.the only thing i would say maybe a fan in the room would help as it was clamie weather

Reviewer:margaret m | Fri 30th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Service- Rating 5/5

This was our second visit to this hotel, as usual the best service and very Curteous staff. Thank you

Reviewer:Ahmed S | Fri 30th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Over priced for a very basic hotel - Rating 3/5

The hotel was very basic but very clean with a comfy bed and decent shower. Breakfast expensive for basically cereal and not much else. Others in our party had very small rooms/beds for the same price.

Reviewer:Christine C | Mon 26th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Short stay - Rating 3/5

You get what you expectClean room and motelLittle bit too much noise from the streetNice welcome at reception

Reviewer:Eric C | Thu 8th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Comfortable and clean - Rating 5/5

We spent a very comfortable night in comfortable beds in a spacious, well equipped room.Thank you

Reviewer:Jennifer E | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Value for money - Rating 3/5

Stay was good. Room was neat and tidy and overall facilities was good.The person in the reception was not at all friendly. He didn't even open the door properly for us, which turned us off. Also, there is no lift in the hotel.

Reviewer:Mohamed S | Fri 2nd Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Dennis & Lynn - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a lovely stay in this hotelRoom was clean and comfortableStaff very pleasant and courteousVery reasonably priced

Reviewer:Dennis G | Thu 1st Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Clean and nice place to stay, close to town ventre, free car parking

Reviewer:Laura T | Thu 1st Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Stay at hotel - Rating 4/5

Staff nice and helpful.The first room was very small and staff got us another room the next day.The beds were comfortable and room clean.The last night neighbours above us were very noisy and played music.This needs to be addressed.

Reviewer:Nuala Martina M | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Good price-quality ratio but cold welcome - Rating 3/5

The hotel is well located, it's easy to go by bus to the city center (10 minutes). Parking is also available.Good price-quality ratio, the room is clean.But the receptionnist is not welcoming (a smile and warm welcome would be appreciated) and the breakfast is disappointing. No hot dishes.

Reviewer:STEPHANE V | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


noisy road and bad air circulation - Rating 3/5

Room are average clean but only bad air circulation, is very hot during summer time, close to main road will very clear the vehicle's sound.

Reviewer:Lai W | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Good location to visit Edinburgh - Rating 4/5

Easy either to go from and to airport or to visit old Edinburgh.

Reviewer:BEATRICE S | Thu 25th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Elliot the Reception Manager is Amazing - Rating 3/5

Dear Elliot,The hotel you are working and you will be working wherever it is will be fantastic because of your great service.Regards,Francis

Reviewer:Francis de la C | Wed 24th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

We had a excellent stay at the hotelOur room was absolutely amazingVery big room and the beds were comfortable and clean and the en-suite was brilliant with a very powerful showerOnly thing we’d of liked in the room was a mirror and a fridgeA excellent shopping centre five minute walking distance and the city centre only 20 minutesPlenty of tea and coffee available in the room and the staff were very polite professional and helpfulThe receptionist advised us to take the Loch Ness tour and also other attractions in EdinburghThanks so much for an excellent stay and making our visit so enjoyable and unforgettable

Reviewer:Devinder V | Sun 7th Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


affordable and close to city - Rating 4/5

Nice hotel, very friendly staff, comfortable beds, affordable and only 10mins away from city centre if you take the bus. However, the window could not be closed properly which could be a problem in the colder months. Would stay there again.

Reviewer:Dale W | Sat 6th Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Great value clean & comfy- Rating 5/5

I stayed with my sister so wanted somewhere good value. We found the hotel staff friendly and the hotel clean with fresh decor. No complaints and a very comfy nights sleep . Bus stops outside with 10 min ride into Edinburgh close enough to leave princes street back to hotel , change and be back in town quickly. We would both book again thanks. Great value for money

Reviewer:Victoria M | Fri 5th Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


pleasant - Rating 5/5

very quiet location, cozy and well maintained room

Reviewer:Florian M | Thu 27th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Clean, nicely decorated room with modern ensuite bathroom. Perfect location with an easy bus ride to city center in one direction and a shopping mall and grocery store a short walk in the other direction.

Reviewer:Anna W | Thu 27th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Pleasant - Rating 5/5

Home pleasant, very helpful and friendly

Reviewer:Florian M | Sun 23rd Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Northumberland Hotel Review - Rating 3/5

This was a decent hotel for our stay in Edinburgh. We liked the fact that there are bus stops right outside that can take you into the city center within 10 minutes. However, the rooms are a little outdated and the hotel borders a very busy street so you hear cars driving by at all hours of the night. Additionally, there were guests on our floor who were quite loud and unfortunately management closes at 8pm. Wi-Fi in our room was spotty as well and didn't always work.

Reviewer:Tinh T | Sun 23rd Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Thanks for staying May&June 2019 - Rating 4/5

I would to thank the hotel woner all staffMembers, very friendly and nice family atmosphere. Especially for Hotel maneger Mr. Fotis, he is always very friendly, poleit and helpful. It is a place to recommend in Edinburgh, which I advice a colleague to come to your hotel. Kind regards. Hazem

Reviewer:HAZEN K | Sat 15th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Perfect stay in Edinburgh- Rating 5/5

If your visiting Edinburgh this is a perfect reasonably priced hotel. 20 min on a bus and your at the Castle. The room was small but extremely clean and comfortable for a single traveller. Top quality TV.

Reviewer:Mark K | Fri 14th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Dr.- Rating 4/5

Very friendly team.

Reviewer:HAZEN K | Wed 12th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Value for money - Rating 4/5

Good value for money, room very clean , was a small double bed which not so good if you are a little on the large size and a bit creaky but very comfortable .

Reviewer:Julie S | Tue 11th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Pleasant very good location - Rating 4/5

Very good location.Receptionist very friendly.Cleaning was not done for entire stay. Wifi for free but they wanted to charge me 5 gbp

Reviewer:Borka M | Wed 5th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent accommodation- Rating 5/5

Very pleased. Pleasant staff. Room clean and comfortable. Easy to find. Free car park. Will use again. Thanks.

Reviewer:angus m | Tue 4th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Good value for money.- Rating 4/5

I stayed in 2 rooms. Room 5 was a small single with ensuite. This would have been fine if it wasn't for the room being very hot. The window does not open and the radiator does not turn off, meaning the room was like a blast furnace. The 2nd room, room 15 was much better and I got the feeling that the owner was trying to improve the hotel. Was clean and everything provided that you would expect. Overall, not bad.

Reviewer:Steven C | Sat 25th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Good - Rating 3/5

Good hotel but not recommended for disabled people as no lifts

Reviewer:FARHAN M | Thu 23rd May 2019 | 6 months ago


You get what you pay for - Rating 2/5

The stay was comfortable enough. The room was a bit dirty and bathroom was filthy. The room next door to us were loud and rude keeping us up for most of the night. Unfortunately no hotel staff were available to deal with them

Reviewer:Emily S | Wed 15th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Lovely first stay in Scotland - Rating 5/5

We had a nice week staying in this hotel. Staff were friendly, room with balcony was comfy and the place is really close from public transports.We don't speak english, and we appreciated that the team took the time to understand us. We will recommend this hotel to our family and will stay there the next time I go to Edinburgh. Thank you !

Reviewer:GOJARDP | Sat 11th May 2019 | 7 months ago


2 nuits - Rating 3/5

Bon rapport qualité/prixChambre avec terrasse non privativeNous avons visité la ville à pied depuis l'hôtel(30mn) Les bus passent fréquemment.Nous n'avons pas testé le petit-déjeuner.

Reviewer:patrick d | Thu 9th May 2019 | 7 months ago


Ideal location for City Centre - Rating 4/5

Clean room and bedding.Had an issue with the shower but this did resolve itself.Would have liked hand wash at the sink.Ideal location for city centre.Easy to find.

Reviewer:Caroline H | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


5 stars 😊 - Rating 5/5

It was a pleasure staying here, rokm was nice and clean and beds so comfortable

Reviewer:Zenovia T | Sun 28th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Great value. - Rating 4/5

Large room with 4 beds and en suite. Basic room wirh a kettle, tea and coffee privided.

Reviewer:Gillian C | Sat 27th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Nice clean room and bathroom - Rating 4/5

Hotel is really pretty.nice and clean.Breakfast,let's put it that way...not good value for money...not for my fussy eater at least. Location is great. 20 mins bus ride to town centre with plentyof bus choices .iy was a surprise for us you need to pay extra for Wi-Fi .it was goodnighy sleep in a clean bed in a nice environment. Exactlywhatyou need after a tireing funfilled day.

Reviewer:Boglarka E | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Feedback- Rating 1/5

We were not satisfied with the Nurthurmberland hotel. The reason the hotel room was so cold that that the only place to get warm is under d the blanket. We complained that the room is so cold but they didn t care.You can not be at hotel when the room is so cold and we could not sleep. I will give 2point only for this hotel

Reviewer:Marge A | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


feedback- Rating 4/5

everthing was very nice and i was very pleased with the hotel. Clean, warm and comfortable. Recommend to other customers.

Reviewer:Marge A | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


A very comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed a couple of times here and it is fine.Had a clean room with the smell of new paint in the hall way which shows the hotel being spruced up. Comfortable bed and nice clean spacious bathroom. Stayed one night on for a gig and would stay again for sure.

Response

Dear Keith William Edwards,thank you very much,we trust to accommodate you in the near future again.The Northumberland Hotel

Reviewer:Keith William E | Thu 28th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


Historic comfort with nay fuss - Rating 5/5

Breakfast had too much carbs for my spartan diet but the coffee and tea were divine.Comfiest bed ive slet in in a hotel in a long time. PLugs were in awkward places for the way furniture was arranged. The room would be perfect for a family with 2 kids or a few adults who knew each other well.Thanks for your hospitalityIt was far too warm though and i couldt open the window. Staff were friendly

Response

Dear Neil Cruickshank,thank you very much,we trust to accommodate you in the near future again.The Northumberland Hotel

Reviewer:Neil C | Tue 26th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago